School Notes: Jan. 26

January 24, 2014 

Daniels inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Jonathan Walter Daniels of Smithfield has been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is the son of Hank and Sarai Daniels of Smithfield.

Daniels graduated last May from UNC’s Kenan-Flagler Business School, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Daniels was active in the Air Force ROTC program and will head for flight school at Columbus Air Force Base outside Columbus, Miss.

Free help with financial aid form

State Employees’ Credit Union branches in Johnston County will open their doors on Feb. 22 to help high school seniors and their families with the Free Application for Federal Student Aid. The application is a requirement for all federal aid and most state financial aid for college, including scholarships and grants.

In Johnston Couunty, the SECU has branches in Benson, Clayton, Cleveland, McGee’s Crossroads and Smithfield. To register, visit or call 866-866-CFNC toll-free.

Scholarship semifinalists

Smithfield-Selma High School is home to two semifinalists in the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation competition.

Taylor Leposa is the second SSS student to be named a semifinalist this year; the first was Lily Faulconer.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation supports more than 1,400 college students each year, with annual scholarships of $3.4 million.

Principal’s List student

Andrew Lee, a sophomore, has been named to the Principal’s List at Corinth Holders High School for the first nine weeks of school.

Library offering SAT, ACT prep

The Public Library of Johnston County and Smithfield is offering free programs to help high school students prepare for the SAT and ACT college-admissions tests.

The library will offer the ACT Challenge at 10 a.m. and noon Saturday, Feb. 22. A combined SAT-ACT practice test is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. Saturday, April 5. Students must arrive by 9 a.m. An analysis of the test results will be available at 2 p.m. Saturday, April 26.

To register for a program, call 919-934-8146 and choose option 3, or stop by the reference desk. The library is at 305 E. Market St. in downtown Smithfield.

Bus drivers perfect

Polenta Elementary School recently recognized the following bus drivers for perfect attendance: Misty Medlin, Carmen Myatt, Sebrina Seagroves, Valerie Vann, Melissa Spain, Joy Pierce, Paige Kuppler, Brenda Benson and Wilda Osegueda.

Students serve lunch to cancer survivors

The Princeton High School chapter of Health Occupations Students of America recently served lunch to cancer survivors. The students were Alondra Arias, Altheia Balageo, Darbey Durning, Gabie Long, Kelcie Thomas, Kathryn Hewett, Dawn Fader, Summer Pope, Moesha Lockamy, Jenny Mills, Korynn Dove, Carrie Woodard, Madison Gammon, Taylor Carroll, Presley Whitley, Jenna Woodard, Alex Pearce and and Hailey Phillips.

Respectful students

Benson Middle School recently honored the following students for showing respect: Alejandra Campos, Logan Valentino, Noah Radford, Dwayne Snyder, Rachael Hill, Giovanni Minns, James Yeargin and McKenzie Barbour.

Student advances

Smithfield-Selma High School senior Zhiyong Frank “Frankie” Guo has advanced to the national level of the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. He is one of six students representing the state at the national level.

Presidential Scholars will receive a medallion and an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in June.

Responsible students

Micro-Pine Level Elementary School recently honored the following students for being responsible: Daniel Beasley, Lily Vaughn, Sydney Daughtry, Luke Lomonaco, Anthony Franco, Kelcey Brannan, Sam Crocker, Ashlyn Overton, Nancy Ortiz Morales, Citaly Cueves Mendez, Carter Aycock, Nicole Ferrell, Joelle Williams, Justin Bullock, Zadie Bare, Mandy Austin, Lexy Cooper, Zander James, Jordan Hales, Francisco Lozano Silverio, Dalton Thompson, Edwin Lopez, Lexi Cooper, Kathryn Medina, Dawson Norris, Yermain Mancia, Katie Hartley, Natalie Casey, Alex Wolfe and Braedon Moore.

Scholarship nominee

Anna A. Howe, a senior at Corinth Holders High School, is competing for an Intermec Foundation Scholarship

Awarded by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., the scholarship pays up to $2,500 annually for four years.

“Anna is one of the most hard-working and dedicated students at Corinth Holders High School,” said school guidance counselor Karen Morrison.

Good bus behavior

Corinth-Holders Elementary School recently honored the following students for good bus behavior: Fernanda Flores-Garcia, Sebastian Tapia, Kameron Rogers, Bailey Jones, Ailin Garcia-Moreno, Santos Delabra-Arellano, Tate Parker, Maria Romero-Resendiz, Jacob Feeley, Hillary Gonzalez-Fuentes, Jamaica Sanders, Lacy Stamper, Darius McPherson, Maggie High, Trace Parker and Aidan Carpio.

Smithefield Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service