School Notes: March 9

March 7, 2014 

Dean’s List students

Courtney Jennings of Clayton has been named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Campbell University, where she is a sophomore biology major.

Kyle Joseph Bond of Clayton has been named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Niagara University in New York.

Elizabeth Minton, the daughter of Tim Minton of Clayton, has been named to the fall semester Dean’s List at Wingate University.

Bingo play at SSS

Bingo play is scheduled from 6 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, March 18, in the cafeteria at Smithfield-Selma High School, 700 E. Booker Dairy Road, Smithfield. Get two cards for $5 and play all night. The prizes will be gift cards. Special cards will go for $1. The evening will include a silent cake auction, and pizza, nachos, desserts and drinks will be available for purchase.

Earn college credit in high school

Johnston Community College invites middle school students, high school students and their parents to learn about how to earn college credit while still in high school.

An introduction to the Career and College Promise program is scheduled from 6 to 8 p.m. Monday, March 14, in the Paul A. Johnston Auditorium on the Smithfield campus, 245 College Road.

Two attend seminars

Two Johnston County teachers, Heather Hafer of Smithfield-Selma High School and Lauren Ramsey of Clayton High School, attended seminars recently at the N.C. Center for the Advancement of Teaching.

Scholarship finalists

Grant Masini, a senior at Corinth Holders High School, has been named a finalist in the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. He qualified by earning one of the highest scores in the state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

At Smithfield-Selma High School, Lily Faulconer is a finalist for the Park Scholarship at N.C. State University, and Taylor Leposa is a finalist for the Chancellor’s Scholarship at Appalachian State University. Both are finalists in the Coca-Cola Scholars Program.

Barton College honors

A number of Johnston County students earned academic honors during the fall semester at Barton College in Wilson.

Courtney Elaine Jernigan of Kenly earned a place on the President’s List.

The following, listed by community, were named to the Dean’s List.

Clayton – Abbygale Diann Award, Breanna Renee Bonczewski, Hannah Nicole Caswell, Christina Leigh Chinnis, Jordan Taylor Cooper, Daniel Kristian Cox, Stephanie Christina Jones, Kendra Lynn Kassonie, Brenda Kay Light, Naomi Ruth Miller, Whitney Vanzandt Phillips and Rachel Anne Schoonover.

Four Oaks – Janice LaRue Lacy, Jonathan Daniel O’Neill and Donna Marie Rhoden.

Kenly – Giovanni Amado-Sanchez, Courtney Brook Bordeaux, Tyler Cooper Freedman, Crystal Dawn Fulghum, Angela April Lopez, Allison Nicole Nixon and Ashley Elaine Vaughan.

Princeton – Amber Kalene Brush, Hunter David Hinson, Teresa Renae Holland and Alyssa Jordan Spell.

Selma – René Nicole Allen, Ashley Rae Daniels and Caitlyn Grey Hines.

Smithfield – Elizabeth Stone Ashley, Christina Leeann Aspesi, Jennifer Baker Moore, Daniel Thomas Myers, Mary Taylor Parrish and Brittany Nicole Robinson.

UNC degrees, honors

A number of Johnston County residents graduated in December from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

They are Christen Franks of Willow Spring, who earned a master’s degree in health-care policy and management; Rontasha Johnson of Smithfield, bachelor’s degree in linguistics; Rebecca Wiedemann of Clayton, bachelor’s degree in journalism and mass communication; Tyler Lindley of Clayton, bachelor’s degree in English; and Russell Thornton of Benson, bachelor’s degree in economics.

The following students who listed Johnston as their home county earned places on the fall semester Dean’s List: Rachel Adams of Garner, Brian Beaman of Garner, Joseph Baldock of Willow Spring, Mallory Barnes of Smithfield, Jared Beckham of Clayton, Elena Boyle of Smithfield, Jocqui Brown of Clayton, Don Byrd of Angier, Elizabeth Carter of Garner, Chelsea Codd of Raleigh, James Collins of Clayton, Griffin Creech of Zebulon, Donald Dewberry of Selma, Olivia Dorsey of Clayton, Austin Fentress of Clayton, Lewis Flowers of Manila, Kendall Garriss of Raleigh, Morgan Hester of Smithfield, Elliot Hunt of Apex, Landon James of Chapel Hill, Lauren Mallory of Clayton, Hannah Manning of Clayton, Alison McMillen of Smithfield, Gina Moreland of Clayton, Ryan Passer of Clayton, Jenna Silver of Clayton, Sarah Silver of Clayton, Caroline Tobin of Smithfield, Russell Thornton of Benson, Stephanie Tolar of Willow Spring, Jonathan Wall of Micro, Joseph Wall of Chapel Hill and John Westall of Asheville.

Smithefield Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service